History of Gunnedah

Prior to white settlement in 1834, the Gunn-e-darr people of the Kamilaroi tribe inhabited the Gunnedah area.  One of the first identities to live in the area was the "Red Chief", the legendary Aboriginal warrior whose life story has been told by Ion Idriess in his book entitled "The Red Chief".  The township of Gunnedah began as a tiny settlement known as "The Woolshed", nestled amidst the fertile black soil plains of the Upper Namoi Valley overlooking the Namoi and Mooki rivers.  Since this time, Gunnedah has developed into a bustling and progressive country town.  Local industries and the natural attractions of the area have encouraged the establishment of a strong, close-knit community supporitng a full range of retail outlets and a wide spectrum of business and service industries.